Food / Healthy Living / Snacks

Recipe – Healthy Powerballs

These last weeks I was spending a lot of time studying in the library. Sadly it is not over yet… In the coming months you will still find me in the library, writing my thesis. Having to study a lot the cravings for something sweet always find me. Searching the web for something sweet, but still a little healthy I came across a lot of recipes for little nut and date balls with all different kinds of ingredients. So one cloudy Sunday a couple of weeks back, I went in the kitchen, got all the ingredients I had and found fitting together and took my try on Healthy Powerballs!

DSC_1144

Ingredients:

  • 8 Medjool dates
  • 3/4 cup –  90g almonds
  • 3/4 cup – 60g walnuts
  • 1/4 cup coconut flakes
  • 1 tablespoon Chia seeds
  • 2 tablespoons flax seeds
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon cocoa powder
  • 2 teaspoons coconut oil
  • Water

DSC_1122

DSC_1125

DSC_1123

Start by grinding the almonds and walnuts in a food processor or any different tool for that purpose. Remove the pits from the dates, add them to the nuts together with the other ingredients and start grinding again. Add some water in case the dough gets too dry – I usually use two or three tablespoons. For me the dough doesn’t need to be completely smooth, I like some dates and nuts to still be in bigger pieces. So just grind the dough until your desired consistency.

DSC_1138

Start to form the dough in about 18 balls. If you feel like it, roll the balls in some cacao powder or coconut flakes to give them a special look. Eat them right away or store them in the freezer and just take one or two out when the sweet craving hits you. Enjoy!

DSC_1174

Love,

Ronja

6 thoughts on “Recipe – Healthy Powerballs

  1. Pingback: Bits & Pieces – CW 4 | So This Is What?

  2. Pingback: New In: KOR water bottle | So This Is What?

Leave a comment