DIY / Inspiration

DIY – Cake in a Weck Jar

As some of you know, next to my studies I work in a department store, that also manages a little chocolate shop – I don’t think I have to explain what a big temptation working there can be: ) Well one afternoon I had a very friendly customer, looking for a nice present. We started chatting and ended up discussion one of the items the store has to offer – little cakes in a jar. Talking to this nice woman the idea to recreate those cakes in a jar started to evolve. The weeks after that I was busy writing my thesis, so I forgot about the idea again. Well then Mother’s Day came around and I found the perfect opportunity to spend some time in the kitchen.

I have to admit I am quite proud of this DIY and it sure makes a perfect present. My mom loved it and the friends she enjoyed it with loved it too. I am super excited to share it with you! So here we go!

DIY  – White Chocolate Blueberry Cake in Jar

Here is what you’ll need:

DSC_2509

What to do?

Preheat the oven to 170°C.
You will want to start by making the dough for the cake. When the dough is ready grease the Weck jars with butter and fill half of the jar in the dough.

The measurements for the needed dough depend a little on the size of the glasses you want to use and how many you plan on baking. Since there is no exact list of ingredients I would advise you to go ahead with the measurements of your recipe – for example as in mine here. Simply use the dough that is left over after filling the jars to make a little cake or some muffins for yourself. And I am sure your family, bf, friends or roommates would love a sweet treat when they come home. I do know my bf was very happy when he found a little surprise cake in the kitchen.

DSC_2519

Keep the Weck jars open and bake them in the oven for about 20-30 minutes. Again it depends a little on your recipe. But just keep watching them and be sure to test if the dough is ready with a skewer.

DSC_2522

When ready, take the Weck jars out of the oven and let them cool down.

DSC_2531

Of course it can happen that the dough raised over the glass. In that case just cut what was baked over the edge off with a sharp knife.

If you want to serve the cake right away you can of course leave the jars open, but I wanted to post my little DIY and be able to store the cake for a couple of weeks – which you will be able to do after the next steps.

After you let the jars cool down, you want to make sure to clean any crumbs or grease from the edge of the jars, so they will be closed right in the process. I used a little bit of alcohol to do that. Simply take any liquor you have in your kitchen, drop some on a napkin and clean off the grease. After that, put the rubbers and the tops on the Weck jars. Be sure that they fit well. Close them with the clamps.
Now drop about 2cm of water on your baking tray and place the jars on that. Make some newsprint wet and cover the top of the glasses with it. Put the baking tray with the glasses back in the oven. As soon as you see water drops in the inside of the glasses be sure to turn off the oven and leave the Weck jars in there for another 30 minutes. Take them out, let them cool down, check if the jars are closed and violà! Here is your cake in a jar!

In case any jar is not closed right,  redo the last steps: clean, close, bake.
To open the jar simply pull on the rubber.

DSC_2576

DSC_2585

Puhh this turned into a word heavier post, then I thought. Don’t let that scare you, the DIY is easier than you think!

I hope you enjoyed this post and are as excited as I was to surprise someone with it. If you have any questions, simply ask them in the comments below. And make sure to tell me if you try this out : )

Love,

Ronja

One thought on “DIY – Cake in a Weck Jar

  1. Pingback: Bit’s & Pieces – CW 20 | So This Is What?

Leave a Reply

